100 days in Asia

My journey has ended. As I came home my computer reminded me that it had been exactly 100 days if I count London out (it was anyway a separate journey since I came back home for one day afterwards before heading to Asia). So let me conclude this chapter of my life with few words.

Since the beginning of my studies some 8 years ago I wanted to go on a longer journey after I am done. Well, I did move to Finland, but other then that I’ve never been on the road for so long and I wanted to experience it. The thing came out differently than I expected, but I am glad I went. The journey was really interesting and other than seeing new beautiful and less beautiful places I got introduced to different cultures, religions and ways of thinking. I got a closer look at poverty and its consequences and experienced myself how is to live in constant fear for life. I lost quite a lot of money also, but at the end I didn’t find it that important since I was glad I survived the earthquake.

All in all – after all this I finally knew what I really want in life. It might not come as surprise (or maybe yes for those who know me better), but what I want now is to get a house and settle down somewhere close to nature together with Jesse. I still want to travel, but not for so long anymore. As many other young people those days, I also hope to find a job in one of my professions, but for now I am happy with my current work as well – happy that I have one. And I am happy for the life I have and feeling lucky about it. Unfortunately too many people in this world have much less.

And my favorites from this journey? I would put on first place Myanmar for overall experience. I don’t really know how to explain it. The country just recently opened its doors to the outside world and so is today a mix of 100 years or older things with modern technology. On the borders the civil war is still raging, but the people of Myanmar are seemingly positive and on the other hand continue to fight for what they believe in.

First place for nature sights goes to Nepal. As the land of Himalayas that probably isn’t anything new. The highest peaks of the world are simply stunning. Oh, and by the way – the highest mountain of the world lowered for 2,5 cm because of the earthquake while Kathmandu plateau rose for – one whole meter.

And Thailand? Well, definitely the best place to go for a chillaxing holidays on beaches. People are nice and everything that a person needs for comfort is at hand, while there is still enough of sights to keep also those who want sightseeing, busy.

That was it. Now I am back to “normal” life, whatever that is. Bellow I am posting my favorite pictures and moments that I remembered the most from my hundred-day journey in Asia.

P.S.: Probably I won’t post here now at least for a while anymore. Maybe on next journey. Cheers 🙂

Here are some selected pictures from Myanmar:

1

Schwedagon Pagoda, Yangon

4

Inle Lake

5

Inle Lake

6

Inle Lake

7

Inle Lake

8

Stupas near Inle Lake

10

A market opens when train arrives at the station in Myanmar

12

On the way to Pinaya cave

13

Quite usual sight on inland roads

14

One of the temples in Bagan

19

Sunrise above temples of Bagan

21

Bagan

20

Bagan

24

Chaung Tha beach

22

Hat making on island near Mawlamyine

And some selected pictures from Nepal:

1

Durbar square in Kathmandu before the earthquake (now a lot of those buildings are no more…)

3

Worshiping the Hindu gods on Durbar square, Kathmandu

6

View from the highest temple on Durbar square

7

One of the details on a temple

8

Freak Street, Kathmandu

12

Houses by Swayambhunath Temple in Kathmandu

13

Monkey near Swayambhunath Temple

14

Swayambhunath

54

Cows on the streets of Kathmandu

55

Boudhanath Stupa in Kathmandu

56

An old man and goats by the temple in Bhaktapur (now also half ruined)

58

The view from Bal Sewa Griha orphanage in Kathmandu

53

Full Thamel (Kathmandu) before earthquake

52

And after.

17

Collecting money for the earthquake victims on Besisahar street

23

The beginning of Annapurna trek

28

On the way to Poon Hill

33

43

Paper making in the mountains

44

The trekking path and Himalayan train

45

One of the landslides triggered by earthquake

42

Mountain village

46

Birethanti village

37

On top of the Poon Hill early in the morning

35

Poon Hill

36Poon Hill

39

Poon Hills

40Poon Hill

26

Pokhara from Lovely Hill

24

View on Pokhara Lake

25

Girls from Lovely Hill

47

Pokhara

48

Pokhara

49Pokhara

50

Pokhara

51Sunset on the lake, Pokhara

Leave a Reply

